Western Province vs Lions: Currie Cup live scores

Western Province vs Lions: Currie Cup live scores from 17:05 on Friday 26 May 2023.

Western Province vs Lions: Currie Cup live scores

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that it will require another big effort to get the win in Athlone on Friday.

ALSO READ: Munster get timely boost as Springbok giant returns

“We were really pleased with the character the team showed last week to fight back and get the win, but there are a few technical areas that can definitely improve.

“It has been a challenging week for this group with all of the focus and hype around the Vodacom URC Grand Final and they have sacrificed a lot to help the DHL Stormers’ cause. It shows their dedication that they were happy to do so, while also putting in extra work to ensure that they are well prepared for this game.

“Athlone Stadium was a great venue last week and we are all looking forward to getting out there in front of the local community once again,” he said.

ALSO READ: How Dobbo dabbled to make it to the Big Dance

Western Province have called on the experience of Scarra Ntubeni and Juan de Jongh for the Currie Cup encounter with Fidelity ADT Lions at Athlone Stadium on Friday.

Hooker Ntubeni (86 DHL WP caps) and centre De Jongh (81 DHL WP caps) both come into the starting line-up for the clash with the Johannesburg team, which kicks off at 17h05 on Friday.

ALSO READ: Teams tussle for in demand Lions star Emmanuel Tshituka! 

There is one other change to the forward pack that did duty in the win against the defending champion Airlink Pumas last week, with flank Junior Pokomela returning from injury to take his place on the side of the scrum.

De Jongh forms a midfield partnership with Cornel Smit, while Luke Burger shifts to fullback and Mnombo Zwelendaba comes in on the wing.

Mnombo Zwelendaba of Western Province. Photo: Shaun Roy/BackpagePix


Western Province: 15 Luke Burger, 14 Mnombo Zwelendaba, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Tom Nel, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis (captain), 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Louw Nel, 7 Jarrod Taylor, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Connor Evans, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 Kwenzo Blose.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Corne Weilbach, 19 George van der Westhuizen, 20 Chad Solomon, 21 Thomas Bursey, 22 Jurie Matthee, 23 Lloyd Koster.

Lions: 15 Quan Horn, 14 Boldwin Hansen, 13 Rynhardt Jonker, 12 Marius Louw (captain), 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Gianni Lombard, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Francke Horn, 7 Ruan Venter, 6 Johannes Pretorius, 5 Darien-Lane Landsberg, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Asenathi Nthlabakanye, 2 Pieter Botha, 1 Ruan Dreyer.
Replacements: 16 Morne Brandon, 17 Rhynhardt Runsburger, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Raynard Roets, 20 Ruhan Straeuli, 21 Morne van den Berg, 22 Andries Coetzee, 23 Tyler Bocks

Referee: AM Jacobs
Assistant Referees: Local
TMO: Aimee Barrett-Theron


Generated by Feedzy