Uganda 3-1 Tanzania: Uganda Cubs Win CECAFA U-17 Championship

Uganda Cubs have successfully retained the CECAFA U-17 Championship after defeating Tanzania 3-1 in the final played on Tuesday evening at Umuganda stadium in Rubavu- Rwanda.

Second half goals from Ivan Irinimbabazi, super talented Travis Mutyaba, and captain Ibrahim Juma (penalty kick) ensured victory for the Uganda Cubs.

Vicent Mulema scored in his own net to gift Tanzania with a late consolation goal but Hamuza Lutalo’s charges held on to qualify for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations U-17 tournament in Morocco.

After a goalless halftime, Uganda broke Tanzania’s resilience through a perfect Ivan Irinimbabazi header from Vicent Mulema’s well laid free kick after 62 minutes.

Mutyaba later doubled Uganda’s lead when he scored a beauty with his left foot on the far post. He turned three Tanzania marksmen (Omar Hassani, Sultan Omar Bakari and Abdulkarim Kassim) in and out before sending a low drive into the back of the net.

Tanzania’s deficit was later reduced by a Mulema own goal before Mutyaba was fouled in the area by Omar Hassan Yahya and the center referee did no mistake but only pointing to the spot.

Skipper Ibrahim Juma stepped up and sent Tanzania’s shot stopper James Mabada the opposite side two minutes from the final whistle.

Uganda has now extended it’s dominance in the CECAFA region adding to their recent CECAFA U-20 triumph in Tanzania.

Uganda is also the reigning champions for the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup, CECAFA U15 (Boys), CECAFA U17 (Girls) and as well the CECAFA Club champions won by KCCA in Rwanda.

Uganda Cubs, after defending the title they clinched in 2018, now directly qualify for the U-17 Africa Cup of Nations tournament that will be hosted by Morocco next year.

Team Lineups

Uganda Cubs

Henry Mwebe, Vincent Mulema, Juma Ibrahim (C), Ronald Madoi, Peter Gava, Ivan Irinimbazi, Samuel Madiba, Travis Mutyaba, Oscar Mawa, Issa Bugembe, Enock Luyima

Substitutes: Abdu Magada, Humphrey Oyirwoth, Shafic Magogo, Basil Tuma, Fahad Jumbe, Hassan Mubiru, Elvis Mwanje, Shugai Kaliisa


James Mabada, Abubaker Ramadhani Lubotile, Omari Hassan Yahya, Abdulkarim Kassim Kassim Kiswanya, Abubaker Abudallah Sabian, Omar Abbas Mvungi, Ladaki Juma Chasambi, Omari Sultan Omari Bakari, Sylvester Sylvester Otto, Hijjah Shamte Lidah, Mbarak Mohammed Saad Hussein

Substitutes: Edward Edward, Nuhhu Lugalamila, Chande Mkala, Abdulrazak Dominick, Shomary Mkwama, Rahim Chapaulinge, Kassimu Yahaya, Abdallah Hamisi Hassani, Said Said

Third Place playoff

• Djibouti 2-5 Ethiopia

The post Uganda 3-1 Tanzania: Uganda Cubs Win CECAFA U-17 Championship first appeared on ChimpReports.