Springboks: THREE out! Lengthy ban and two injuries – UPDATE

The Springboks will be without three top players for their test series against Ireland. Unfortunately, this trio of World Cup winners will be unavailable.

Rassie Erasmus will start his second stint as Springboks coach without three top players.

Unfortunately, Jasper Wiese picked up a lengthy ban, as reported on BBC Sport. Furthermore, two world class backline players have been ruled out with injury. Here is the latest update on the squad and the injury status of the players.


Damian Willemse (hand) and Lukhanyo Am has been ruled out of action as a result of recent injuries picked up during the URC.

According to recent reports, Willemse will miss the test series against Ireland. Whilst, Am’s participation in the series is not looking likely. Additionally, Wiese’s six-match ban will see him miss the two-match series as well as South Africa’s opening test against Wales. Moreover, he will miss the tests against Portugal and both matches against Australia.

Willemse has damaged the ligaments in his hands. Meanwhile, Am has a fractured rib and a shoulder problem. The extent of his injury has not been revealed yet.


All three players are key members in the current Springboks side.

Willemse started the Rugby World Cup final and was one of the regular starters under Jacques Nienaber in 2023. Furthermore, Am has been at the heart of the Boks success in recent seasons (Rugby World Cup (2019), the Rugby Championship (2019), The British & Irish Lions series (2021). He is also technically a double Rugby World Cup winner despite not playing in the Rugby World Cup in France. This is because he was a part of the squad and he only missed out on initial selection due to injury. Finally, Wiese was poised to step up for recently retired Springbok legend, Duane Vermeuelen.

However, now Rassie will have to look at other options at number eight, fullback and outside centre. Stay tuned to The South African as we bring you the latest injury updates from the Springboks camp.