Revealed: South African MPs and Ministers’ New Salaries

Revealed: South African MPs and Ministers’ New Salaries

The office of the Presidency has gazetted the approved salary hikes for ministers, deputy ministers, members of parliament and other legislators in South Africa.

How much do you think they earn?

The salaries will kick in retroactively from 1 April 2024, and reflect a 2.5% increase—well below inflation.

According to the presidency, the total annual package includes the following elements:

A basic salary component equal to 60% of the total, which constitutes the pensionable salary.

R120,000 per annum is included in the basic salary, equating to a monthly allowance of R10,000, which is excluded from income and, therefore, does not appear on the IRP 5 certificate.

An employer’s pension benefit contribution equal to 22.5% of pensionable salary.

A flexible portion for the remaining amount of the total.

These elements apply to all the salaries listed below.

Despite arguably low increases, South Africa’s cabinet ministers and parliamentarians are still bona fide millionaires.


The full salary hikes can be seen below:

Deputy president, ministers and deputy ministers 2024/25

Position (Pay level 1, effective from 1 April)2023/242024/25Deputy PresidentR3 087 467R3 164 654MinisterR2 624 329R2 689 937Deputy MinisterR2 161 190R2 215 220

Members of the National Assembly and NCOP 2022/23

Position (Pay level 1-2, effective from 1 April)2023/242024/25Speaker: NAR3 078 467R3 164 654Chair: NCOPR3 078 467R3 164 654Deputy Speaker: NAR2 161 190R2 215 220Deputy Speaker: NCOPR2 161 190R2 215 220House ChairR2 057 045R2 108 472Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 748 874R1 792 595Chief Whip: NCOPR1 748 874R1 792 595Parliamentary Counsellor: PresidentR1 748 874R1 792 595Parliamentary Counsellor: Deputy PresidentR1 748 874R1 792 595Leader of OppositionR1 748 874R1 792 595Committee ChairR1 634 452R1 675 314Deputy Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 471 064R1 507 841Chief Whip: Largest Minority PartyR1 471 064R1 507 841Leader of Minority PartyR1 471 064R1 507 841WhipR1 365 074R1 399 201Member of National AssemblyR1 243 450R1 274 536Permanent Delegate of the NCOPR1 243 450R1 274 536


Premiers, MECs and Members of Provincial Legislatures

Position (Pay level 1-3, effective from 1 April)2023/242024/25PremierR2 470 010R2 531 760Member of Executive CouncilR2 161 190R2 215 220SpeakerR2 161 190R2 215 220Deputy SpeakerR1 748 874R1 792 595Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 634 452R1 675 314Committee ChairR1 471 067R1 507 844Leader of OppositionR1 471 067R1 507 844Deputy Committee ChairR1 384 012R1 418 612Deputy Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 384 012R1 418 612Chief Whip: Largest Minority PartyR1 384 012R1 418 612Leader of Minority PartyR1 384 012R1 418 612Parliamentary Counsellor to King/QueenR1 243 450R1 274 536WhipR1 243 450R1 274 536Member of Provincial LegislatureR1 203 473R1 233 560

Let’s take a look at the nine provincial Premiers for the seventh administration.


Newly-inducted provincial legislature representatives voted them in between the 13th and 14th of June.

Gauteng: Panyaza Lesufi (ANC)

KwaZulu-Natal: Thami Ntuli (IFP)

Western Cape: Alan Winde (DA)

Northern Cape: Dr. Zamani Saul (ANC)

Limpopo: Dr. Phophi Ramathuba (ANC)

Eastern Cape: Oscar Mabuyane (ANC)

North West: Lazarus Mokgosi (ANC)

Mpumalanga: Mandla Ndlovu (ANC)

Free State: Maqueen Letsoha-Mathae (ANC)

Meanwhile, the African National Congress (ANC) has re-elected Cyril Ramaphosa as President of South Africa for the country’s seventh democratic administration.

The people re-elected President Ramaphosa as the President of South Africa

Additionally, ANC’s Angela Thokozile “Thoko” Didiza has assumed the role of Speaker of the National Assembly (Parliament), with Dr Annelie Lotriet from the Democratic Alliance (DA) elected as Deputy Speaker.