Proteas beaten by India despite David Miller heroics, lose series


Second Twenty20 International: India vs South Africa.

Temba Bavuma is under the pump as skipper of the Proteas T20 team with his place in the side under scrutiny.

South Africa can ill afford another misfiring effort with the bat but face an adept India attack despite a raft of injuries blighting the hosts efforts.

The Proteas must win this match to retain any hope of claiming the series while India can wrap up the trophy and claim their first home bilateral T20 series win over South Africa.

Proteas limited-overs captain Temba Bavuma. Photo: AFP via Getty Images

ALSO READ: Mark Boucher to QUIT as Proteas coach

LIVE cricket scores: India vs South Africa

Live scoring courtesy of Flashscore.

Pitch report and weather forecast

The history of the Barsapara Cricket Stadium offers a small sample size when it comes to predicting how the pitch will play.

Like most venues in T20 cricket results tend to favour the team chasing but a score of 150 or more could prove a stiff challenge for either team to run down.

With rain around, if either skipper wins the toss and bats they should be immediately sacked.

Squads: India vs South Africa

India squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj.

South Africa squad for India T20Is: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo

Probable XIs:

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Spread the love
Generated by Feedzy