Miguel Oliveira claims pole position for home Grand Prix

Red Bull KTM Tech 3 rider Miguel Oliveira claimed pole position for his home Grand Prix on Saturday 21 November 2020.

Miguel Oliveira claims pole position in Portugal

Oliveira will start at the head of the pack for the first MotoGP at Algarve International Circuit in Portimão, Portugal.

Joining Oliveira on the front row of the grid will be last round’s winner Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha) and the Pramac Racing Ducati of Jack Miller.

The five fastest rider’s qualifying for the Portuguese Grand Prix were all from Independent teams. Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha) are joined on the second row by substitute Honda rider Stefan Bradl.

Binder holding Rookie of the Year advantage

Brad Binder narrowly missed out on Q2 but will start ahead of his nearest rival in the race to be crowned Rookie of the Year. The KTM Rider is three grid places ahead of Honda’s Alex Marquez.

Joan Mir has clinched the MotoGP rider’s championship but his Suzuki team will want him to aid them in their quest to win the constructors’ championship.

Suzuki are currently level on points with Ducati at the head of the Constructor’s standings while Yamaha are also still in the running.


1 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1’38.892s 7/8 338k
2 Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.044s 7/8 331k
3 Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP20) +0.146s 7/8 345k
4 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.264s 5/7 339k
5 Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.307s 6/8 333k
6 Stefan Bradl GER Repsol Honda (RC213V) +0.312s 6/8 340k
7 Johann Zarco FRA Reale Avintia (GP19) +0.346s 8/8 343k
8 Maverick Viñales SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.368s 6/8 332k
9 Pol Espargaro SPA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.392s 8/8 335k
10 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.575s 7/7 338k
11 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.639s 8/8 334k
12 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP20) +0.695s 7/8 344k
  Qualifying 1:          
13 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16)* 1’39.39s 8/8 336k
14 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1’39.762s 3/8 340k
15 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Pramac Ducati (GP20) 1’40.019s 7/8 341k
16 Alex Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V)* 1’40.049s 3/8 343k
17 Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1’40.058s 6/8 335k
18 Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati Team (GP20) 1’40.091s 6/8 343k
19 Lorenzo Savadori ITA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1’40.174s 6/7 339k
20 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1’40.29s 2/8 331k
21 Tito Rabat SPA Reale Avintia (GP19) 1’40.427s 8/8 344k
22 Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1’41.753s 8/8 338k