March 3, 2021


AfricaTopForum – News Around Africa

Liberia: Musa Bility Elected Chairman of Liberty Party

2 min read

GBARNGA – The opposition Liberty Party has elected Musa Hassan Bility as chairman to pilot the affairs of the party. He replaces Lofa County Senator Steve Zargo.

Bility and other executives of the party were elected unopposed at a closed-door convention held in Gbarnga on Saturday, January 23.

Those elected along with Bility were Rugie Barry, Vice Chairman for Administration, J. Elder Jallah, Vice Chairman for operations, Eric Augustine Frederick, Vice Chairman for Inter-Party and NEC Affairs and senator Abraham Dillon, Vice Chairman for Political and Legislative Affairs.

Others are James M.V. Yougie, Vice Chairman for Planning, Policy, Policy and Programs, Cllr Kuku Y. Dorbor, Vice Chairman for Gender and Social Policy, Prince A. Toles, Vice Chairman for Mobilization and Martin S. Kolah, National Secretary.


Outgoing chairman Zargo was a noticeable absentee from Sa?convention, while the party’s former acting National Secretary Kla-Edward Toomey, boycotted the convention hours before election.

Toomey claimed that the process that led to the election of new Liberty Party executives were compromised and he couldn’t form part of a process that was already flawed.

“This is not the Liberty Party that we fought for. I chose to boycott the process because the expected chairman Musa Hassan Bility had reportedly accused me of fighting him in the party and that I won’t be retained as Secretary General of the party,” he said.

Asked whether he will resign from the party, Toomey said: “I will make the necessary decision in the next few weeks.”

The political leaders of the Alternative National Congress (ANC) Alexander Cummings and Joseph Boakai of Unity Party graced the convention.

The post Liberia: Musa Bility Elected Chairman of Liberty Party appeared first on FrontPageAfrica.