AfricaTopForum – News Around Africa

Junior Springboks: Squad named for Uruguay clash

3 min read

Lions flanker Siyemukela “Sasko” Ndlovu will captain the Junior Springboks in their U20 International Series match against Uruguay in Stellenbosch on Friday.

Ndlovu will lead a side full of former SA Schools players graduating to the next level, when the contest kicks off at 15:00 at Markötter Stadium.

All of Junior Springboks coach Bafana Nhleko’s selections for this match, will debut for South Africa at Under-20 level.

Ndlovu, Tyler Bocks (centre), Izan Esterhuizen (No 8), Dylan de Leeuw (lock), Raynard Roets (lock) Blaine Golden (prop) and Jacques Goosen (hooker) have all come through the SA Schools squad.

Nhleko is eager to give his whole squad a run in the series while ensuring performance levels remain high.

“We decided on these combinations for a number of reasons,” said Nhleko.

“There is a short turn-around between matches and player management will be important, so we will need fresh legs against Argentina early in the week. A number of players are earmarked to get a first start then.”

Junior Springboks

“This starting team will be match ready. Many of them formed part of the SA Rugby Academy that played a number of matches in recent weeks, and they know and understand each other, which was an important part of our thinking.

“It will be important for us to get a good start to set the tone and standard and these combinations should be able to provide us with that,” he added.

Ndlovu, a former Northwood High School learner who represented the Sharks at Craven Week level, said the opportunity to get back into action, will be a motivating factor for the squad.

“We are facing the best Uruguay can offer and will need to respond accordingly,” said Ndlovu.

“Our guys are really hungry to play. We want to go out there and represent our country and make them proud of us. We are defending their honour. We have been training very hard for this and the time has come, thankfully, for us to apply of that on the field.”

Tournament rules allow for squads to have all their non-starting players on the bench; however, a front row must be nominated before the match and only eight players can be replaced in total.

The Junior Boks will play Argentina on Wednesday, 23 June and Georgia on Monday 28 June. The tournament concludes with a last round of matches on Saturday, 3 July where the top two sides and the bottom two teams will play each other respectively.

Junior Springboks squad

15. Quan Horn (Lions)

14. Canan Moodie (Blue Bulls)

13. Ethan James (Western Province)

12. Tyler Bocks (Lions)

11. Curwin Gertse (Sharks)

10. Brandon Wilkie (Sharks)

9. Bobby Alexander (Western Province)

8. Izan Esterhuizen (Lions)

7. Reinhardt Ludwig (Blue Bulls)

6. Siyemukela Ndlovu (Lions, captain)

5. Dylan de Leeuw (Western Province)

4. Raynard Roets (Blue Bulls)

3. Blaine Golden (Sharks)

2. Jacques Goosen (Sharks)

1. Nolan Pienaar (Blue Bulls)

Replacements (from): Andre-Hugo Venter (Western Province), Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Blue Bulls), Corné Weilbach (Western Province) – (nominated front row), Simon Miller (Western Province), Rynard Mouton (Blue Bulls), Siyambuka Ningiza (Sharks), George Cronje (Cheetahs), Bradley Davids (Sharks), Kian Meadon (Sharks), Mnqobi Mkhize (Sharks), Dalvon Blood (Western Province).

Spread the love