Griffons vs Sharks: Currie Cup live scores

Griffons vs Sharks: Currie Cup live scores from 15:00 on Friday 26 May 2023.

Griffons vs Sharks: Currie Cup live scores

The Sharks are out to cement their top two position but won’t be understimating the Griffons according to forwards coach Philip Lemmer.

“The Griffons, in Welkom, are tough. They beat the Bulls there, Province only just won there, so we acknowledge that it is a difficult game for us. It’s important that we do the job well this weekend,” Lemmer said.

Lemmer acknowledges that his charges have been in sterling form of late with the platform laid by the forwards doing much to set up a run of five straight victories in recent past.

ALSO READ: How Dobbo dabbled to make it to the Big Dance

“The forwards have put in a lot of hard work, one thing they pride themselves on is being obedient to the call and to the system and we know that amongst the forwards in particular, unity is key.

“If eight guys aren’t doing the same thing at the same time, that’s when you get exposed,” Lemmer explains. “The senior guys have led the way and taken ownership and they make sure that the work we do during the week shows on the weekend. They know that it is their job and responsibility to give the backs the best possible ball.

“So far that’s going well.”

ALSO READ: Munster get timely boost as Springbok giant returns

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA – JANUARY 19: Murray Koster of the Cell C Sharks during the Carling Currie Cup match between Cell C Sharks and Tafel Lager Griquas at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on January 19, 2022 in Durban, South Africa. Photo: Darren Stewart/Gallo Images/BackpagePix)


Griffons: 15 Duan Pretorius, 14 Domenic Smit, 13 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 12 Jandre de Beer, 11 Randy Fielies, 10 Robbie Petzer, 9 Jaywinn Juries, 8 Sokuphumla Xakalashe, 7 Thomas Ongera, 6 Mitchell Carstens, 5 Michael Benadie, 4 Rian Olivier, 3 Doctor Booysen, 2 Hendrik van Schoor, 1 Xolani Jacobs.
Replacements – from: 16 Dandre Delport, 17 Stephan de Jager, 18 Buhle Nojekwa, 19 Wikus Nieuwenhuis, 20 Curtly Thomas, 21 Thato Mavundla, 22 Keanu Vers, 23 Duren Hoffman, 24 Jared Kruger, 25 Jaco Willemse, 26 Richman Gora, 27 Jamba Ulengo, 28 Ethan Williams, 29 Marquit September, 30 Bennie Human.

Sharks: 15 Nevaldo Fleurs, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Murray Koster, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Marnus Potgieter, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Bradley Davids, 8 Celimpilo Gumede, 7 James Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Reniel Hugo (captain), 4 Ockie Barnard, 3 Khutha Mchunu, 2 Dameon Venter, 1 Dian Bleuler.
Replacements: 16 Fezokuhle Mbatha, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Hanro Jacobs, 19 Marco de Witt, 20 Vincent Tshituka, 21 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 22 Tiaan Fourie, 23 Aphelele Fassi.

Referee: Christopher Allison
Assistant Referees: Local
TMO: Ben Crouse

Generated by Feedzy