July 24, 2021


AfricaTopForum – News Around Africa

Govs who defected to opposition parties

3 min read

By Samuel Oamen

1. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers)

Rotimi Amaechi
Rotimi Amaechi

In 2007, Amaechi contested and won the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary for Rivers. His name was substituted by the party, an action which he challenged in court. The case eventually got to the Supreme Court. He became Governor on October 26, 2007 after the Supreme Court ruled that he was the rightful candidate of the PDP and winner of the April 2007 Governorship election in Rivers State.

In August 2013, Amaechi was amongst seven Governors, who formed the G-7 faction within the PDP. In November 2013, Amaechi, alongside five members of the G-7, defected to the newly formed All Progressives Congress (APC) and became director general of Muhammadu Buhari’s presidential campaign.

2. Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto)

Aliyu Wamakko ran successfully for Governor of Sokoto in April 2007 on the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) platform and assumed office on 29 May 2007.

Wamakko, alongside five members of the G-7 defected to the opposition APC.

3. Murtala Nyako (Adamawa)

Murtala Nyako
Murtala Nyako

Nyako was elected Adamawa Governor in April 2007.

In February 2008 the Election Petition Appeal Tribunal annulled his election, alleging electoral malpractices. The Speaker James Barka was sworn in as Acting Governor on 26 February 2008.

Read Also: JUST IN: Umahi officially joins APC in Ebonyi

Nyako was reelected a landslide victory taking all 21 Local Government Areas in the fresh elections. He assumed office on 29 April 2008. Soon after, the House initiated moves to impeach Nyako but was dissuaded after the personal intervention of President Umaru Yar’Adua

Nyako, alongside five members of the G-7, defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

4. Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara)

Abdulfatah Ahmed
Abdulfatah Ahmed

In the 26 April 2011 elections, Ahmed won the gubernatorial election on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Ahmed first defected alongside five members of the G-7 to the opposition party the All Progressives Congress and dumped the All Progressives Congress (APC) on July 31, 2018 for the PDP.

He revealed his decision at the time with former Senate President Bukola Saraki.

5. Musa Kwankwaso (Kano)

Musa Kwankwaso
Musa Kwankwaso

Kwankwaso was elected Sokoto Governor on 29 May 1999. His first tenure was very eventful because of several other groups who were opposed to his alleged high-handedness.

In 2011, Kwankwaso was re-elected for a second term in office as Governor of Kano State from 29 May 2011 to 29 May 2015.

Kwankwaso was among the five members of the G-7 defected to the opposition APC.

6. Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto)

Aminu Tambuwal
Aminu Tambuwal

Tambuwal was elected Speaker of the House of Representatives under the platform of PDP but defected to APC in 2014.

He won the governorship ticket of the APC and defeated the PDP candidate in the 2015 election.

7. Godwin Obaseki (Edo)

Godwin Obaseki
Godwin Obaseki

On 29 September 2016, Obaseki was elected Edo Governor on the platform of the APC. In 2020, Obaseki sought re-election under the APC but was controversially disqualified by the party’s screening committee over alleged discrepancies in his certificates.

On Friday June 19, Obaseki defected to the PDP and was re-elected for a second term.

8. David Umahi (Ebonyi)

David Umahi
David Umahi

Umahi was elected Governor on 12 April 2015 on the platform of the PDP. He was re-elected in 2019 on the same platform.

On November 11, 2020, Umahi declared for the APC, claiming the PDP has not treated the South East well.