Craig Ervine to lead Zimbabwe on tour of Sri Lanka

Middle-order batter Craig Ervine will captain Zimbabwe during their three-match ODI series in Sri Lanka. 

The series, which is part of the World Cup Super League, will see Zimbabwe play their first ODIs since a three-match series against Ireland in September.

Ervine has once again been entrusted with the responsibility to lead Zimbabwe after he skippered the Chevrons on their limited-overs tour to Ireland and Scotland in August-September last year.

Wicketkeeper Clive Madande and opening batter Takudzwanashe Kaitano are included in a Zimbabwe squad for the first time, while allrounder Tino Mutombodzi has earned a recall. 

Experienced middle-order batters Sikandar Raza and Sean Williams will form a strong spine for the tourists, while Zimbabwe continue to adjust to life without arguably their best player of the modern era in Brendan Taylor, who retired from international cricket in August.

The three matches against Sri Lanka will take place on January 16, 18 and 21 with the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy playing host.

The last time the two sides played an ODI series, Zimbabwe stunned the hosts, famously winning a five-match series 3-2. That series remains the only multi-game ODI series Zimbabwe have won in Asia.

Zimbabwe are still a dangerous side even without Taylor, and have a number of promising youngsters coming through the ranks but Sri Lanka should start as favourites.

Sri Lanka’s last ODI series came against South Africa at home, a confrontation they came out on top of by a margin of 2-1.

According to information provided by Zimbabwe Cricket, the side will leave for Sri Lanka on Saturday.

Zimbabwe squad for tour of Sri Lanka

ODI Squad: Craig Ervine (capt), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Luke Jongwe, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wesly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams.

Spread the love
Generated by Feedzy