2021 AFCON qualifiers: Ghana coach Akonnor eyes qualification against Sudan today

CK Akonnor named Black Stars coachGhana coach Charles Kwabla Akonnor will be hoping to secure automatic qualification to the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Tuesday’s game against Sudan in the second leg of the qualifiers.The former Asante Kotoko coach recorded his first competitive win as Black Stars coach against Sudan in a 2-0 win in the first leg at the Cape Coast Sports Stadium on Thursday, November 12, 2020.Ghana captain Andre Ayew who has been ruled out of the game today after picking up an injury scored a brace in the first leg to propel the Black Stars to victory and also maintain their unbeaten run in the qualifiers.Akonnor had to hand late call-ups to some players to join his squad ahead of the trip to Sudan, following some withdrawals and suspension.Majeed Ashimeru, Mubarak Wakaso, Jeffrey Schlupp and Fatau Dauda were the players to have joined the squad late ahead of the trip to Sudan.Speaking ahead of the game, Akonnor saidI am thinking about the team itself, whether South Africa won or not. For us its important that we continue with what we have done in the past and that means we have to play well and win and win convincingly. It will be difficult tomorrow. Its not going to be easy, of course, they gave us some problems and that is my main concern. Its about that, we need to work without the ball and once we do that, we will be good. And I think Wakaso is there to give us that balance.A win in todays game will see the Black Stars book a ticket to the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations which will be staged in Cameroon.The Black Stars currently lead Group B of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers with nine points following wins against South Africa, Sao Tome and Principe and Sudan.Below is the squad to face SudanGoalkeepers: Fatau Dauda, Lawrence Ati-Zigi, Razak Abalora.Defenders: John Boye, Baba Abdul Rahman, Kwadwo Amoako, Christopher Nettey, Alexander Djiku, Joseph Aidoo, Joseph Attamah, Nicholas Opoku.Midfielders: Emmanuel Lomotey, Afriyie Acquah, Clifford Aboagye, Majeed Ashimeru, Mubarak WakasoStrikers/Forwards: Jordan Ayew, Tariqe Fosu, Samuel Owusu, Caleb Ekuban, John Antwi, Jefferey Schlupp.