130 MPs will not return to Parliament in 2021

Nearly 50 percent of the legislators in Ghana’s parliament will not return to the House in the 8th Parliament when it convenes in January 2021.

This is one of the interesting tales resulting particularly from the very competitive 2020 parliamentary elections which has for the first time in the country’s history seen the two leading political parties sharing an equal number of seats in Parliament based on official information from the Electoral Commission.

Other factors such as losses at party primaries and voluntary decisions to exit parliament has accounted for the number of MPs who will be missing in action in Parliament at least for the next four years.

A Citi News analysis reveal that of the 130; 14 voluntarily decided not to seek re-election while 50 failed in their bid to be re-elected during their various parliamentary primaries.

65 others lost the 2020 parliamentary elections.

NPP had the most number of casualties

Most of the MPs who will not return to the legislative house are members of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP).

More than 93 of them will exit the house at the end of sittings of the 7th parliament.

On the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) side, at least 33 of them will not be in the House for the next parliament.

MP-Ministers shown the exit

Many of those from the New Patriotic Party (NPP) who fell casualty are serving ministers of state including deputies.

Some popular names in this category include Barbara Oteng Gyasi, the Tourism Minister who lost her bid to retain the Prestea Huni Valley seat and Elizabeth Afoley Quaye, the Fisheries and Aquaculture Minister who lost the Krowor seat.

Minister for Planning, Prof. George Gyan Baffour also lost the Wenchi seat.

Deputy Health Minister, Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye lost the Ledzokuku seat just as Deputy Transport Minister, Nii Titus Glover lost the Tema East seat.

First-timers taking early leave

The Member of Parliament for Okaikwei North, Fuseini Issah will not be in the 8th parliament after losing his seat to a new entrant on the ticket of the NDC.

Kumbungu MP, Ras Mubarak is also taking an early leave of Parliament after serving only one four-year term.

He lost in the NDC primaries.

According to Citi News’ Parliamentary correspondent, Duke Mensah Opoku, majority of those who will not return to parliament are first-time MPs.

Among other reasons for this development, he cited failure to find the right mentors and advice while in parliament as well as challenges with holding their respective constituencies together.

“Most of the time, people come and struggle to find their feet and this is based on a number of things. Not finding the right mentors, not getting unto the right committees, not getting the right advice , not breaking out of your shell early and not having a foothold over the constituency such that it affects your mood and psychology while in parliament.”

Duke Mensah Opoku remarks that while this number of fallen MPs appear huge and shocking, it “is in tandem with what we usually see. The attrition rate is about 50%.”

The list below features some of the 130 MPs who will not return to the House in 2021.


Alban Bagbin Nadowli-Kaleo
Richard Quashigah Keta
Inusah Fuseini Tamale Central
Dr Bernice Adiku Heloo Hohoe
Magnus Kofi Amoatey Yilo Krobo
Clement Kofi Humado Anlo
Fiifi Kwetey Ketu South
Joseph Yieleh Chireh Wa West
Daniel Kwesi Asiamah Buem
Emmanuel Nii Okai Laryea Amasaman
Mathias Kwame Ntow Aowin
Amenga-Etogo Chiana Paga
Ras Mubarak Kumbungu
Francis Dakura Jirapa
Aziz Abdul Muniru Akan
Eric Osei-Owusu Afram Plains South
Adams Mutawakilu Damongo
Edward Kaale Ewola Dery Lambuisie
Abdul Rauf Tanko Yagaba Kubori
Sualihu Dandaawa Ahlassan Karaga
Mohammed Abdul Aziz Mion
Simon Acheampong Tampi Tatale Sanguli
Alhassan Umar Zabzugu
Mahama Shaibu Daboya Mankarigu
Mumuni Alhassan Salaga North
Dr Robert Baba Kuganab-Lem Binduri
Samuel Abdulai Jananyite Chereponi
Joseph Naabu Yunyoo
Felicia Adjei Kintampo South
Mohammed Massawud Pru West
Derek Darko Ohene Asifo Bekoe Upper West Akim
George Oduro New Edubiase
George Andah Awutu Senya
Yaw Buabeng Asamoah Adentan
Boniface Abubakar Saddique Madina
Siaka Stephens Jaman North
Yaw Afful Jaman South
Ali Maiga Hamidu Dormaa West
George Gyan Baffuor Wenchi
Derrick Oduro Nkoranza Noth
Charles Konadu Yiadom Nkoranza South
Abena Durowaa Mensah Assin North
Barbara Asher Ayisi Cape Coast North
Francis Kingsley Cudjoe Ekumfi
Alexander Abban Gomoa West
Joseph Tetteh Upper Manya Krobo
Ebenezer Nartey Ablekuma Central
Hajia Alima Mahama Nalerigu Gambaga
Titus Glover Tema East
Joseph Kpemka Tempane
Adongo Frank Fuseini Zebilla
Anthony Karbo Lawra
Michael Gyato Krachi EAst
Paul Essien Jomoro
Barbara Oteng Gyasi Prestea Huni Valley
Kofi Amoakohene Atebubu Amanten
Gabriel Osei Tain
Oko Boye Ledzokuku
Elizabeth Afoley Quaye Krowor
Solomon Namliit Boar Bunkpurugu
Martin Oti Gyarko Techiman North
Catherine Afeku Evalue Gwira
Mathew Nyindam Kpandai
Salifu Braimah Salaga South
Joseph Dahah Benhazin Asutifi North
Daniel Okyem Aboagye Bantama
Kwabena Owusu Aduomi Ejisu
Collins Owusu Amankwah Manhyia North
Ben Abdallah Banda Offinso South
Kennedy Kankam Nhyiaeso
Kwame Asafu-Adjei Nsuta/Kwamang/Beposo
Joyce Adwoa Ako Dei Bosome Freho
Dr Kojo Appiah Kubi Atwima Kwawoma
Joseph Albert Quarm Manso Nkwanta
Nana Amaniampong Marfo Afigya Kwabre North
Dr Kwabena Twum Nuamah Berekum East
Kwasi Sabi Dormaa East
Anthony Effah Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa
Abraham Odoom Twifo Atti Morkwa
Nana Amoako Upper Denkyira East
Mark Assibey-Yeboah New Juaben South
William Agyapong Qauitoo Akim Oda
Seth Kwame Acheampong Mpraeso
Ama Sey Akwatia
Opare Ansah Suhum
Kwabena Ohemeng Tinyase Kade
Robert Kwasi Amoah Achiase
Eric Kwakye Darfour Nkawkaw
Nana Akua Owusu Afriyieh Ablekuma North
Vincent Sowah Odotei La Dadekotopon
Ahmed Arthur Okaikwei South
Kofi Brako Tema Central
Alhaji Habib Saad Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfro
Alhaji Wahab Wumbei Tolon
Charles Bintin Saboba
Dr Sagre Bambangi Walewale
Joseph Kofi Adda Navrongo Central
Godfred Bayong Tangu Wa East
Patrick Adama Sissala West
Ridwan Abass Sissala East
Joe Mensah Kwesimintsim
Ato Panford Shama
Alex Agyeku Mpohor
Patrick Bogyako Kwame Saime Amenfi East
Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu Bibiani Anhwiaso Bekwai
Dr Anthony Akoto Osei Tafo Pankrono
Kwabena Appiah Pinkrah Akrofuom
Dr Ziblim Iddi Gushegu
Shirley Ayorkor Botchway Anyaa Sowutuom

The Majority leader and Member of Parliament for Suame constituency, Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu has already expressed regret over the exit of experienced legislators from the House.

In different interviews, he has suggested that running a parliament with so many newbies is difficult and does not strengthen parliament to discharge its duty effectively.

For him, the absence of Ben Abdallah Banda, Chairman of the Judiciary Committee, and Dr Assibey-Yeboah, Chairman of the Finance Committee of Parliament in the next parliament will be a major challenge to the House.

He has on various forums called for some form of protection for old and experienced legislators from being removed from Parliament.

“Mr Speaker, my heart is out there for every incumbent MP seeking a return. The more experienced MPs, the stronger our Parliament will become,” he remarked in June during a parliamentary debate.”

The post 130 MPs will not return to Parliament in 2021 appeared first on Citinewsroom – Comprehensive News in Ghana.